Welcome to
The Monticello Institute
High Speed FTP instructions
for members who are using
DSC-P200 Sony cameras
Read and understand all of these instructions before doing anything.  

Read and understand all of these instructions before doing anything.
Here's how it works... 

Because you logged in on August 7th/8th the security system that authenticates you added some software to your computer that added two new folders and added a program that will facilitate the transfer of pictures and movies from your system to The Monticello Institute. 

Step 1: Take pictures, lots of pictures. Make movies, lots of movies. As you take them, DO NOT DELETE THE UNWANTED ONES. There is a special, yet simple, system and process that you will need to use to delete unwanted files. A part of the way each picture is taken with your type of Sony camera, a tiny serial number is encoded into each picture or movie. Each picture and each movie has a unique serial number, embedded into the image to track the users identity. As each file is received it is checked against your login criteria. If you delete a file it will cause the system to shut down believing a security breach has occurred. If you have images or movies you don't want to share that's ok, you just won't share them, but don't delete them until after the transfer. They will remain private if you want to keep them private. 

Step 2: Connect your camera to your PC via the USB wire. See the instructions that came with the camera on how to do this. 

Step 3: Open a window showing your cameras contents/file listing.  You will find that once your camera is connected it will look like an additional hard drive or storage device. 

Step 4: Open a second window displaying My Favorites>MTravel. This is where you will put images you want to send to The Monticello Institute. 

Step 5: Drag the pictures you want to send in from the window displaying the cameras contents to the MTravel window. For security purposes the files in the MTravel window will be permanently removed (deleted) from the MTravel folder after the transfer is complete

Step 6: After you get all of the files you want to share in the MTravel window open a command session and type 

Firstname_Lastname_password_newsony

hit the carriage return and the transfer process will start. That's your firstname then an underscore then your lastname then an underscore then your password (all in lower case) then an underscore then the word newsony (there are no spaces in this expression). You will need to answer some questions to verify your identity, and it will take a little bit of time to do the transfer but it won't be confined by e-mail limitations. As the transfer process is running the dots on your cameras screen may turn red. 

Be patient, it will finish, and close itself when completed.

The new security systems in place may slow or disable the trace route requests as well as the requests for a ping time. This is one of the reasons your new camera needs to be connected and turned on to run properly.  The new system also dips into your camera to verify the file serial numbers as well as the cameras serial number.  While it checks file serial numbers it will not and can not do anything with the files, which is why they are left untouched.

Step 7: WAIT. Wait for the transfer to complete. 

Step 8: Once the transfer is complete you will notice that the MTravel folder will be empty. And all of the images and movies in your camera are untouched. 

If you want to delete those files from your camera now you may do so now, or at any other time in the future. 

If you want to save them you may do so in the My Favorites>Sony folder, where you may need to make a new subfolder to put those new files that you want to save, identify the subfolders with unique names (suggest, date or event name i.e. New Years 2006). 

Step 9: Close all of the windows on screen, and turn off your camera.  Disconnect your camera from the USB wire.

Step 10: The final step... Reboot your computer. 


SPECIAL NOTE ON CONNECTING YOUR CAMERA DURING THE TRANSFER 

The transfer system checks the e-serial of he camera to confirm your identity. This is done in addition to the trace route and ping requests.  The transfer system also checks the embedded serial numbers in the transferring files as well as the embedded serial numbers of the files left in the camera.  The FTP system, while being able to verify the serials in the camera, is unable to handle or copy the files due to the limits of the cameras firmware.


SPECIAL NOTE ON DELETING FILES PRIOR TO TRANSFER 

The embedding of serialized code in each image is used to authenticate member access. If the serialization is broken or fails the internal redundancy checks the remainder of your upload will be continued to completion, and your identity flagged, and the system/server(s) receiving the uploads will shutdown. The upload servers will stay off-line until a senior board member familiar with the security protocols can restore the secure pathways and the offending members who crash the servers will have their superiors (counselors and directors) notified. There will be negative consequences for several individuals (the offender and there superiors). So, DO NOT under any circumstances, delete your files prematurely. You will have ample time after your file transfer to delete your files.